Sean Thornton
Jon Nelson
Steve Dalessandro
Andrew Unferdorfer

Euphobic is an alternative, experimental music collaboration. They began in 2007 when founders Jon Nelson and Sean Thornton began swapping tracks and bonding over shared goals. Because Sean is a Canton native and Jon hails from Barberton, necessity dictated that Euphobic’s first EP, Songs for Horatio, was recorded separately and then transported and combined digitally.

After the digital release of Songs for Horatio, Euphobic began to develop into a live act incorporating percussionist Steve Dalessandro and bassist Andrew Unferdorfer.

Among their influences, Euphobic counts indie/alternative artists like Death Cab for Cutie, Gomez, Guster, Silversun Pickups, and Failure as well as classic rock staples Jethro Tull and Fleetwood Mac. Euphobic’s vocals are heavily shaped by the melodic stylings of artists such as Jose Gonzalez, Elliot Smith, Iron and Wine, A Perfect Circle, and Kings of Convenience.

As an independent, unsigned endeavor, Euphobic releases material as digital singles on their Myspace, Facebook, Last.FM, and iLike pages before compiling them into EPs and releasing them to iTunes and AmazonMP3. Euphobic currently has two EP’s in circulation. 2009’s Songs for Horatio features early favorites “Kissing Frogs” and “Shine” as well as the contemplative and experimental “Constellations.” 2010’s Euphobic EP features the popular “Noblesse Oblige” and the crowd favorite “River Otter” and an upbeat, live rendition of “Constellations.”

Euphobic is concurrently developing their live presence and writing new material.