mouse on the keys MOUSE ON THE KEYS is a jazzy instrumental trio from Tokyo, Japan. They consist of former members of Nine Days Wonder (a leading band of the Japanese post-rock scene) – Akira Kawasaki (drum, keyboards) and Atsushi Kiyota (piano, keyboards) – along with Daisuke Niitome (piano, keyboards), who has played drums and composed music for jazz-funk/hiphop bands. The unique sound of the band’s drums, two pianos and two keyboards combines the urgent ’90s American posthardcore with early/contemporary classical, jazz and various electronic dance music. At their concerts, the band projects a variety of images chosen to match their soundviews of Tokyo, geometric symbols, 3D objects, and abstractions. Being residents of Tokyo, the members of MOUSE ON THE KEYS bring the haunting restlessness of their home city to their live appearances. They will actually transform a venue in Germany or France into a kind of virtual Tokyo.
In 2007, MOUSE ON THE KEYS have released their first EP ‘Sezession’, followed by their first album ‘An Anxious Object’ in 2009.  All music for this album was written by Kawasaki. And the first song of the CD, Complete Nihilism, was also arranged by Takaaki Mino, toe‘s guitarist. The band then embarked on a promotional tour, notably a live during which they shared the stage with toe and envy.
They  siezed the opportunity to enter the European market when the German records company Denovali made plans to release their two CDs worldwide. ‘Sezession’ was released in February 2010, followed by ‘an anxious object’ in March. Between these releases, MOUSE ON THE KEYS was invited to promote their CDs with a tour through France, Germany and Poland.


sources: Denovali Records and JaME